Skip to content

the best present ever…

December 30, 2012

After spending the month of November buying a house, remodeling, moving, photographing families and sending out photos for other people’s Christmas presents… it was time for me to think about my own Christmas presents.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0095

But I was feeling unmotivated, broke and out of time (we only had 18 days in our new home before our annual Christmas pilgrimage to Carbondale, Illinois.)

_MG_7346

But there is no place under my Grandfather’s Christmas tree for excuses.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0059

My Grandfather purchased and wrapped 100 gifts this year, so I had to get my act together quickly.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0023

Luckily my family likes my photos, so often times prints become my default gift. But this year I wanted to be more creative.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0060

And then it occurred to me… my mom gave me a baby book after Harper was born, which she very sweetly (and repetitively) encouraged me to use, reminding me that these days go so fast and that if I don’t write these memories down I will forget.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0163

But the baby book, although super cute and exactly the one I chose, was not inspiring me. Every time I sat down to work on it I would get stuck on family history I didn’t know or on an irrelevant question that I didn’t care about.

paigegreenChristmas2012-0251

And the thought of making one more scrapbook (I was a scrapbooking fool in high school, before scrapbooking was a verb) that would fall apart in 10 years… did not appeal to me.

101412-65760001

So I decided to make my own baby book that I would give to our parents and to Arann. Several 4:30am nights and 240 pages later, here it is…

 

 

Watching my mom and Arann open their copies and flip through the pages on Christmas was the best present ever.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica Watson permalink
    December 30, 2012 11:23 am

    Paige, thank you for sharing. Gorgeous shots. Inspirational and emotional. Happy new year!

  2. December 30, 2012 11:57 am

    Thank you so much for sharing. Your pictorial journal fills my heart.

  3. December 30, 2012 1:25 pm

    Paige, that’s stunningly beautiful, nice visual treat/present to end the year……I wish I had you photograph my wedding, I told my husband about you and showed him some pictures you took (after that mini shoot in SF for local wisdom)…….Vino

  4. carol harper permalink
    December 30, 2012 6:00 pm

    It certainly was my second best Christmas present. My best one was having almost two weeks with both my children, my favorite grandson and my special son-in-law and daughter -in-law. I am so lucky! Thank you for my best Christmas presents!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Erin permalink
    December 31, 2012 2:48 pm

    Love it, Paige. Thanks for sharing. B is totally for Bob.

  6. December 31, 2012 8:06 pm

    What an amazing retrospective of the year! Thanks for sharing your creative gift with all of us, always. Looking forward to June every day. Happy New Year!
    xo Keri + Ricker

  7. Mortizy permalink
    January 3, 2013 2:23 pm

    wow – what a wonderful life full of love for such a great family. it truly is a wonderful life huh?
    hope to share more time with you all in 2013.

  8. January 4, 2013 9:35 am

    oh paige! Love this. I have long wanted to turn my blog into a book and got started a few years ago before I jumped ship. SO much time. I need a tutorial. It’s beautiful. xxoo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

